Fenil and Bollywood

Singer hospitalized due to severe depression

Posted on: May 14, 2009

Singer Tochi Rainaa hospitalised for severe depression after websites give credit to singer Toshi Sabri for songs sung by the former

By Ashwini Deshmukh (MUMBAI MIRROR; May 13, 2009)

Tochi Rainaa

What’s in a name? goes the famous line by William Shakespeare. Singer Tochi Rainaa has a bitter answer to this question. For the 42-year-old singer, whose claim to fame is the song Bullee Shah from A Wednesday and O Pardesi from Dev.D, it is a simple error in names that resulted in him being admitted to the Bombay Hospital where he is undergoing psychiatric treatment.

After 28 years of complete dedication to music, Tochi finally got his first break to sing in A Wednesday followed by Dev.D. Unfortunately, his fame didn’t last long. And the reason was something as simple as a mistaken identity by a website. His friend and manager Viraj Jaiswal, who is by his side at the hospital, confirmed and said, “Due to a blunder by an irresponsible website, Tochi has suffered a lot. The credit of Tochi’s work is being given to singer Toshi Sabri, who is a reality show contestant in his early 20s. Everyone who wanted to contact Tochi Rainaa ended up calling Toshi Sabri, because of incorrect details on the website.”

When we met him at the hospital yesterday, the distraught singer said, “I’ve spent 28 years learning and researching music. I travelled not only across India but also Afghanistan and Pakistan to learn music. I’m in Mumbai since the past six years and I finally got a break in A Wednesday. After all these years of struggle, I got recognition but the website spoilt it all for me. Look at the difference in our age and the difference in our voice. I am not blaming Toshi but it’s the website that I have a problem with for giving credit for my songs to Toshi. Because of this, most of my shows and events have gone to Toshi. After so many years of hardship, it’s difficult to survive financially. My brother is suffering from TB and I don’t have any money to help him. My mother died of cancer last year.”

According to Dr Hemant Gupta and Ramona Kakkad, Tochi was admitted to the hospital on Tuesday morning. “He was brought in a state of complete distress. He has a psychiatric problem. The case of mistaken identity has resulted in a complete setback professionally and he is in a helpless situation,” said Dr Aashish Tiwari.

Toshi Sabri

Because of the mistaken identity, Tochi is left with no option but to sing jingles. Recently, he started his own band Bandagi. But it’s not enough to bring a smile to his face and the glint in his eye is missing. “We have sent a notice to the website and are demanding a compensation of Rs 2 crore for the losses suffered by Tochi. We are waiting for their reply,” said Jaiswal.

Anurag Kashyap, director of Dev.D, said, “Tochi is extremely talented. Recently, he sent me a message asking me to meet him but I was unable to do so as I was busy. Today, when I got to know that he is severely depressed and is hospitalised I feel so bad that I couldn’t meet him earlier. I want to meet Amit Trivedi (music composer of Dev.D) and discuss what I can do to help Tochi to get out of this sad situation. I wish I knew about his situation earlier.”

Despite repeated attempts, Toshi Sabri was unavailable for comment.

24 Responses to "Singer hospitalized due to severe depression"

this is totaly unfair.need action.

Tocchi Rainna is a gem of a singer .. We are with you .

Hi Bhaiya,

Hope you still remember me . !We worked together in delhi.

Happy to see you at this stage in life.Congrats for all your success and you do deserve it bhaiya.I know how great singer you are, i have been with you.Music is your passion !!

Get well soon bhaiya.We all need such a good talent.

Keep it up.

My best wishes are with you.

Regards
Ashu

if god puts you through it, he will take you out of it….He is extremely talented…And his voice in Wake up Sid and the way he sang the song gave me goosebumps !

Hi, this is totally unfair. I respect both the singers, but one who deserve should get the rewards.
I am sad for Tochi Rainaa. Hope i can do something for him. All i can say, media should take care of this matter, and tell the truth to everyone
.
Get well soon, Tochi Rainaa.

Unmatched singer.. Tochi you rock man

i’ve been listening to the Dev D song over an over for a long time without even researching who sang it. I just loved the song.. then i watched Wake up sid and loved Iktara.. particularly the Male version. I bought the CD but it didnt have the version i wanted.. i then called up a friend of mine to buy another CD which had this track and i’m absolutely loving it.

You are going a long long way ahead my friend and No Toshi or anyone else for that matter can stop a talent like you are.

Get Well soon

this is a complete nonsense… how come u guys just believe wht u c… thers is nothing …. the mistake was jus in a website… tht to unofficial… his name was correct in the album film and all the official sites… how can someone is watching the only unofficial site and giving all his work from 2 years to tochi sabri!!!! and as far as personal problems are concerned tht is with every single human on this earth… if u run away then u dont deserve to be a human…

this guy is a looser… and this all is done just to create a controversy so tht he could get some fame for free and MONEY…

this is compleate shit

hey toshi raina u r really superb ,,,, u r as like as one piece of the heart GOD BLESS U!!!

Those who know music, can easily say that there is a great difference of Voice Quality in Tochi Raina and mr sabri…….
I still listen to your music brother, and want a lot more from you, dont let us down by getting depressed……I know its difficult time……but things will change…….looking forward for more from one of the best indian singers.

Vahab
Pakistan

Revered Tochi Saahib

I am creating a music album and there is one song that only voice and do justice to.

I have tried many means but could not get to you. If you ever read this, or anyone who has some information about Tochiji’s whereabout pls write to me on dushyanth.goswamy@gmail.com

I will be greatly obliged.

DG

I think he would be visitin NSIT,Dwarka delhi for a concert on 26th…

Your voice is great sir. If anybody has any knowledge or sense of music, he will like ur voice.

songs sung by you are really great and appreciable. please take care of yourself, we need more songs from you.

Tochi, hats off to you.. gr8 song..
dont worry, ramaji beda par karenge..

all the best.

Toshi Sabri is worst singer in Bollywood Music Industry He is 100% “Besoora Singer” & Tochi Raina is very very talented singer., Toshi Sabri is just using Tochi name he can’t use Tochi Raina’s voice.
Fake is Fake & Original is Original.

hey..i love ure song in wake up sid..its one of a kind..really u have a gift n a rare one 2 ..m sure u have a long way to go man! keep up da gud work we want more of this:)

Tochi:

Really liked your version of the song Iktara from Wake Up Sid. It was too good. I also bought the CD but it had the song missing aargh.. how could Dharma productions make a cd without the male version of it.

Yashesh

p.s. Get well soon, want to hear more of you.

presently i am listening to “gal mithi mithi” song from aisha sung by this veteran singer….it’s too good that i can hardly take my ears off….yes it has been really upsetting about his story.. but to my surprise the singer “toshi sabri” dint even utter a word of credit..!!!!!!
well it doesn’t really matter tochi….keep learning music n success to jhak maarke peechey aayegi..!!!!
get well soon…. :))

VERY NICE SUNG BY TOCHI RAINAA WHICH IS GAL MITHI MITHI AND I KNOW THIS IS BEST DJ DANCING SONG AND IT WILL BREAK ALL THE RECORDS….kEEP IT UP BROOOOOOOOO LOVE YOU ALWAYS.

Hi

Gem of a singer once we insisted him to sing ganpati bandana ina jagran in meerut it was awesome jaran musicians were not able to follow his voice .. hats off .. jagran manager offerd him job he said i want to worship music for more years im not a commercial singer .. thou he was in great deal of need then ..
I know tochi personally from past 12 years during his delhi dayz .best thing about him is he is such a down to earth person . would love to see him as judge in some music shows .

hi

I have full sympathy for tochi raina, he has risen from the ashes i after his new song gaal mithhi bol. U will go very high, higher than sonu nigam, shaan, anu malik. Ur voice has lot of dard blood and sweat. Now with bollywood turning towards sufi music, ur voice will be very handy. I see in u another kishore kumar in making.

dont get lost in this bollywood industry, u are really a gem of person. WHen i heard ur new song in aisha movie, i was tempted to do research on u, i found u. Do not lose hope u will be no.1 singer this year win filmfare award. i am dead sure.

Great life ahead tochi raina.

Great good going !!!

thanx all my friend’s,main computer pe nahin baithta hun,aaj padh raha tha,shukriya ada karta hun doston ka…………….mujhe suport karne ke liye,thanx again………………..

Hello! Great post! Please do tell us when I will see a another amazing article!

Leave a Reply

