Fenil and Bollywood

‘Ranbir-Katz will sweep all awards’

Posted on: November 13, 2009

 

LOL: Katrina Kaif and Ranbir Kapoor take a coffee break with Rajkumar Santoshi and Ramesh Taurani at the Radio Mirchi studios
Ramesh Taurani’s laughing all the way with his new release…

 

TIMES NEWS NETWORK (BOMBAY TIMES; November 13, 2009)

 

“Fortune favours the brave,’’ says trade consultant Amod Mehra. “Ramesh Taurani of Tips had full faith in his latest rom-com Ajab Prem Ki Ghazab Kahani that released on November 6. He, therefore, released it himself all over. Today the film looks slated to become one of the biggest hits of 2009, and if that happens, Ramesh will be laughing all the way to the bank,’’ adds the trade pundit. Taurani of course is pleased as punch. “I knew from the very start that I had a winner on hand,’’ says the producer. “Everything about the film from the story to the emotions, music and its lead actors felt right.’’ He prophesises that Katrina Kaif and Ranbir will even sweep all the awards for APKGK.
Director Raj Kumar Santoshi is more subdued in his reactions but ecstatic all the same. “I’m glad that people are seeing my film three and four times in the same week,’’ says the bespectacled director. “I’ve worked as sincerely on this film as I usually do. It is the blessings of God, my elders, my friends and my well-wishers that Ajab… took a flying start.’’ All trade quarters confirm that APKGK has come like a breath of fresh air, infusing life into the near wilting box office figures of 2009. Now, all the peppy numbers of this film can be enjoyed by tuning into Radio Mirchi.
While Katrina who is on a roll (she had another hit in New York this June) is glad that people are liking her film, leading man Ranbir who is the next big thing, equally modestly says, “Ajab… is my first super-hit. I’m really thankful to the audience and to everyone else who has helped make this film what it is. I don’t know how to react to the film being called a superhit. And I have no idea what else to say except a big thank-you.’’ Post his critical acclaim in Karan Johar’s Wake Up Sid and now APKGK, the Kapoor scion who is knocking furiously on the doors of the Bollywood reigning biggies adds, “I will continue to work hard on each of my films, but I guess now there will more money available to my filmmakers to make the films in the way they want to.’’
Of course, no success story is complete without the verdict from the grass-root level. Brijesh Tandon, a leading distributor-exhibitor from Delhi-UP says, “The Ranbir-Kat jodi is easily the best pair of the season. Their Kaise Batayein Hum Kis Tarah song shot in Turkey has a lilting quality that the audience is freaking out on on.’’ APKGK is like the unseasonal rain that hit many parts of the country. And yes, sometimes when it rains, it pours.
Meena Iyer
Leave a Reply

