Fenil and Bollywood

Bollywood, hmm Business, nah-Yuvraj Singh

Posted on: December 2, 2009

BEYOND CRICKET: Yuvraj Singh
Yuvraj Singh on future plans that just might include films

NICOLE DASTUR Times News Network (BOMBAY TIMES; December 2, 2009)

This was a side of six-six-six king Yuvraj Singh that not many have seen. It was a picture perfect moment to see him, down on his knees to be the same height as the group of children around him, lost in a world that was just theirs and his for that short time. The ace cricketer, who is currently in the city for a match, took time out from his hectic practice schedule to spend an evening with kids with life-threatening illnesses from the NGO Make A Wish Foundation at an event hosted by the Yuvraj Singh Foundation. “Say cheese,” Yuvraj urges the kids to smile at the cameras. “This is the least I can do to fulfill the wishes of these children. I don’t have the power to give them a new life, but I can at least make their existing one a little bit better,” says Yuvraj, adding, “Besides, it’s always nice to be around children.”

Over to his other love – cricket. He’s ‘in form’ right now, scoring half-centuries and centuries in match after match. “These comments about being ‘in form’ and ‘out of form’ don’t bother me anymore. Of course, we go through our bad spells, we can’t be at our best at all times when we’re playing three different formats of the game!” Yuvraj states, matter-of-factly. Speaking of the three formats, which one suits him best? “Test cricket is the basic format of the game, unfortunately, I’ve not played much of it.” But he intends to do just that even as he aims to better himself and his game. “The goals I set are against myself, not against others. I constantly strive to beat myself. It’s hard work, but if you have focus, I believe you can reach for the stars,” Yuvraj says it like it is. And with a mentor like Sachin Tendulkar, it doesn’t look like it will be long before Yuvraj is one among the many cricketing stars in the Milky Cricket Way galaxy. “I always discuss my batting with Sachin and take his advice. Ponting’s a great batsman too, I love watching him bat,” says the humble Prince of Punjab. Where does he see himself 10 years from now? Still associated with cricket, getting into the business of restaurants like most of his teammates or attempting Bollywood? “I’ve never really given it a real thought. Business, nah, I don’t see myself doing that; Bollywood, hmm, well, you never know,” he chuckles, as though hiding something up his sleeve,” and then continues, “But after seeing 2012, I don’t think I’ll be here in 10 years!” (Contributed by Meena Iyer and Sharin Wader Butani)
Leave a Reply

