Fenil and Bollywood

I like to see myself on posters-Dharmendra

Posted on: December 8, 2009

BIRTHDAY BOY: BT caught Dharmendra in a relaxed mood at home
Dharmendra on his 75th birthday and start of a new innings in Bollywood

ROSHNI K OLIVERA Times News Network (BOMBAY TIMES; December 8, 2009)

Yoga, 30 minutes of cycling, and some free form exercises… that’s how Bollywood’s original he-man and endearing actor Dharmendra will start his day today. It’s not just another day. It’s Garam Dharam’s 75th birthday, and while his family and well-wishers are excited, for the man himself it’s only another “beautiful day” that he might spend at his farmhouse in Lonavala.

Life, as a whole, is a celebration for Dharmendra. ‘Be happy and spread cheer all around you’ has always been his mantra. “I am a very emotional person. I love people. I want to see genuine warmth in human beings where there is no artificiality, only true care and concern. There should be harmony all around,” is his birthday wish.

Talking about celebrations, he says it’s a personal choice not to celebrate his birthday. “I stopped doing so after my mother passed away in 1985. She used to be very excited about my birthday… bahut chahel pahel machati thi,” he fondly recounts. But, wishes from across the globe are going to pour in today, as they have over the years. He’s just received a beautiful t-shirt from a girl in New Zealand and a call from a group of 80 boys from Gwalior, who will be donating blood in his name today. Overwhelmed by the affection, Dharmendra says, “It’s this love from my well-wishers that keeps me going. In fact, recently after I appeared on Dus Ka Dum, I received so many letters from people asking me to do more films and make more appearances on TV.” Audiences’ response to Apne, Johnny Gaddar and Life in a Metro has given him tremendous motivation and he’s all set, looking forward to his next innings. “I want to do more films and do good films. I like to see myself on posters. Who doesn’t?” he smiles. A career spanning 50 years in Bollywood (this is his 50th year) and with a number of hit films to his credit, Dharmendra’s seen it all. He’s played the diehard romantic, action hero, and also done comedy. But ask him about his favourite genre and he says he loves every form of acting. He was born to be an actor and will continue to pursue his passion with as much gusto.

On his birthday, as he goes into flashback mode, when he first came to this city of dreams, when he signed his first film and faced the camera for the first time, one can see the same excitement and charm that he may have exuded then. Nothing’s changed… he’s as fit and handsome, his face radiating the same exhilaration even today when it’s ‘lights, camera, action’ time.
1 Response to "I like to see myself on posters-Dharmendra"

happy birthday to dharam Ji

I like him very much

His movie like Satyakam, Chupke Chupke, Dost, Mera ganv mera desh

Sholey etc.

Leave a Reply

