Fenil and Bollywood

I wont drop the Olympic torch…or else naak kat jaayegi-Akshay Kumar

Posted on: December 15, 2009

Akshay Kumar, who will run with the Olympic torch on December 17 in Toronto, is apprehensive about dropping the torch

By Subhash K Jha (MUMBAI MIRROR; December 15, 2009)


The first Indian ever to have got the opportunity to run with the Olympic torch, Akshay Kumar made all efforts to be a part of the run. He had to request director Priyadarshan to allow him to go to Toronto for the Olympic run on Thursday, December 17. While his excitement was palpable, he was also worried about dropping the torch while running.
Akshay said before leaving, “As I am getting ready to leave for Toronto, I just keep telling myself one thing over and over again, ‘No matter what happens Akshay, don’t drop that torch. Naak kat jayegi.’ It would be so embarrassing. I would never be allowed to visit Canada.”

Akshay regretted not being able to take along his son Aarav. “It’s just for a day so I somehow managed to squeeze it in my schedule. But it would be too tiring for Aarav. If I was going for 5-6 days I would have taken my wife and son along.”

Akshay was working round the clock to beat the deadline for his departure to Toronto last night. The untiring actor said, “Only when I go home in the night do I allow myself the luxury to feel tired. On December 17, I run with the torch then I return to Canada next year to see some of the Olympic’s sports. I wouldn’t miss it for the world.”

On November 16, the Canadian Prime Minister, Stephen Harper handed over the Olympian torch to Akshay in Mumbai. “When I was given the torch some kids came running to just to touch that torch.  I can’t tell you what a proud moment that was. I remember, as a child I used to watch sportsmen carrying the torch on our black-and-white television,” said an elated Akshay.

2 Responses to "I wont drop the Olympic torch…or else naak kat jaayegi-Akshay Kumar"

Akshay you are the Best

happy to b connected wid u.

Leave a Reply

